Skip to content

bistro St. Michaels

April 6, 2010

I am writing this post in English, because I promised my son Constantine and his dear friend K.

I found the bistro St’ Michaels in my internet searches, looking for a nice place to have dinner  in the St’ Michael’s area during my Easter escape at Tilghman island.  It seemed as the best choice considering the reviews and the chef”s credentials.  So I made reservations for Good Friday,  my first night in the area.

We arrived exactly at 7:30 and we were warmly welcomed by the staff.  The bistro is a warm and cozy place with the “appropriate”  bistro furniture, colors and decorations. It is a change in the small village of St. Michael’s where the visitor can find many seafood places to dine.  The bistro also features a seafood bar, and the only reason I did not try it, was the fact that I had fresh seafood  in another place as lunch that same day.  The menu is somehow limited  to five entrees, five starters and six small plates, but I do not consider this bad, because the less you find on the menu, the more attention the chef pays to each creation.  The menu changes probably often, and I consider this great as seasonal changes ensure better tasting plates. The only thing I have to say is that they should update their web site menus to reflect what they serve.  What is now on the site is probably an older menu.

On the table when you arrive, there is already a bowl with some olives and pickles. Those were  probably there for a while, as they have lost their freshness and crispiness, especially those cornichons.   Also the bread comes promising in the form of hot  rolls with crispy crust, but they are not baked well inside.

We decided to start with two small plates.  Beets and apples with Dijon vinaigrette and hummus with basil and goat cheese.  The first dish was a pleasant surprise. The  beets and the apples and some pieces of cucumber  were dressed by a vary tasty and smooth sauce.  The hummus also was excellent and definitely homemade,  and I never thought before of combining it with goat cheese.  The only thing I would change in this plate would be to replace the crackers on the side with toasted pita, the classic hummus accompaniment.

I noticed in the small plates the selection ” greek yoghurt with honey and pistachios”  As a matter of fact someone ordered it from the next table and it looked good,  however greek yoghurt with honey is rather a dessert plate and the yoghurt tends to fill up one’s stomach quickly,  cutting  the appetite for the main course.

My partner  and I both selected the same entree.  The cod and shrimp on a bed of jasmin rice.  On a good Friday none of us wanted to eat meat.  The combination of all these plus some small red peppers was very delicate.  I would salt the fish filet a bit more before cooking it.  The sweetness of the rice,  the sweet flesh of the fish, and the sweet peppers,  were missing something that would satisfy our “mediterranean taste buds” .

My personal disappointment was the Creme Caramel.  I have tasted so many creme caramels since I was a child, and some I like some I do not. But this one did not have any caramel.  Instead there was a light syrup in the plate.  Also I am not really sure that it was made from scratch as it was missing the silky taste.  I decided to share the lack of burned caramel with the waitress, and she was very polite inquiring the reasons I did not like the dessert.  I tried to explain and I hope that my concerns went to the chef.  They took off the creme caramel from our bill, although that was definitely  not my intention. My honest intention was to state that a creme caramel should have ..caramel instead of syrup.

My partner’s warm chocolate cake with hot fudge, creme anglaise and vanilla ice cream was too sweet, but probably good to satisfy the “sweet american tooth”.

The service was very cordial and all the staff very attentive, and quick.  The meals arrived at nice intervals,  the wine list covered nicely all the dishes on the menu.

Also I want to say, that I am by no means a food critic.  I often write on this blog restaurant reviews, based only on my experience of many travels.  and my mediterranean heritage.

Bistro StMichaels

www.bistrostmichaels.com

403 South Talbot Street
St Michaels, MD 21663
(410) 745-9111


10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 7:41 am

    my dear Despinarion, I believe that you do not have to be a food critic in order to have an opinion. Neither to be a citizen of the world…Taste is something that everyone has and opinions are more than welcome. I believe that telling us your point of view is more valid than any experts as you and your family ate in that restaurant as normal non-expert citizens that would like to enjoy their food on a Friday night. Anyway, I found the fact that they did take of the bill, the desert that did not satisfy your taste a very good and professional gesture. Moreover, the fact that they did care to listen to your comments was also a sign of professionalism. The rest, even though I totally trust your taste in food, I will do leave them until the time that I might be able to try them on my own😉

    p.s. ekana tin bauareziki milotourta…pesane me ta moutra….haha

    xx

    • April 7, 2010 12:17 am

      Lonely my dear, I think that if you want to criticize something you need to have some experience on the way it tastes in it’s original or classic form. Otherwise you just say I like it or I don’t expressing your personal view.
      The move of excluding the creme caramel from the bill was definitely a plus although that was not what I was looking for. And the kindness and interest was also very pleasant.

      p.s. Ti mou les vre thirio, eisai kai poly zoyzoyni!

  2. margarita permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:36 am

    My dear since creme caramel is one of my favourites I agree with you.. You were absolutely right to mention it to the waiter…. Hope they have the real one when I go ( hihihihi)
    Οτι και να βαλεις τωρα απο φωτογραφιες δενμε δελεαζεις ειμαι φουλ!!!

  3. April 6, 2010 7:15 pm

    well… apparently the poor creme caramel is a confused desert on this little island😀
    Served with all sorts of berries AND a cookie?? pfff

  4. Ρούλα permalink
    April 6, 2010 9:06 pm

    Καλοκαίρι στην Κέρκυρα πριν δυο χρόνια.Επιλέγω κόκκορα κρασάτο,δοκιμάζω και σκέτη κότα το πτηνό,το αφήνω στην άκρη και παίρνω κάτι άλλο.Ο διάλογος με τον υπεύθυνο:
    εγώ-δεν είναι κόκκορας
    υπεύθυνος-μα τι λέτε,μας προσβάλετε!
    ο συνοδός μου-δε θέλει να σας προσβάλει αλλά να πως να σας το πω, ο κόκκοράς σας είναι τραβεστί!🙂
    Εννοείται ότι τον πληρώσαμε τον τραβεστί κόκκορα,δεν είχαν βλέπεις το στοιχειώδη επαγγελματισμό και να φανταστείς ότι ήταν η σπεσιαλιτέ τους.Μετά κλαίγονται που έχει μειωθεί η τουριστική κίνηση στο νησί.
    φιλάκια

    • April 7, 2010 12:30 am

      Tωρα φανταζομαι Ρουλα οτι διακρινεις την κοτα απο τον κοκκορα απο το μεγεθος τν κομματιων και το πιο σφιχτο κρεας. Υπαρχει κατι αλλο που διαφερουν; Ειμαι περιεργη. Φιλουμπες.

      • Ρούλα permalink
        April 7, 2010 11:23 am

        Περισσότερο είναι θέμα γεύσης και υφής του κρέατος,άσε που ο κοκκορίκος έχει λιγότερο λίπος.Όσο για το μέγεθος των κομματιών και το πιο σφιχτό κρέας δηλώνει περισσότερο το αν είναι ελευθέρας βοσκής κοινώς αλανιάρηδες,γίνονται πιο μυώδεις καθώς τρέχουν στην εξοχή.Προς θεού δεν είχα την απαίτηση να ήταν ελευθέρας βοσκής αλλά όχι και …κότα,κάτι σε πιο… μπρουτάλ.Είναι θέμα εμπειρίας περισσότερο θάλεγα.
        φιλάκια

  5. April 8, 2010 12:08 am

    θενκς Ρουλακιον.

Leave a Reply

